none
[PHP][Web Apps] WordPress web app supporting two domains RRS feed

• Question

• I have an existing Azure subscription against which I run a virtual machine, which has WordPress installed. I am interested in potentially ditching the Virtual Machine in favor of a web app. I need to be able to expose two domains, let's call the site1.com and site2.com.

I am not really getting my head around how to set this up so I can have two domains. I just walked through the wizard to install a WordPress web app and I can now log on just fine to that instance. As part of that I specified the B1 (Basic) pricing tier because it includes a) custom domains and b) 3 instances.

What are the "instances" in this context - do these show up through separate WordPress admin consoles (one for each domain I might want to set up)? The first one of these is set up and available to me, but it's not clear to me how to set up a second instance.

Also, what is the relationship between this definition of "instance" and WordPress MU - do I need the latter?

So, a little confused but hoping this is something of a common request. Any pointer/documentation would be most appreciated.

Thanks.

Mark Williams

Wednesday, June 17, 2015 9:13 PM

Answers

All replies

• Just to add to this, I did figure out how to add another web app under the same resource group but it's an "empty" web app and I don't now how to get WordPress there. By comparison, when I went to the Marketplace when creating my FIRST web app, I was able to select WordPress and everything was set up such that when I browsed to the URL I saw the initial WordPress experience (enter a name, password, etc).

Basically I have...

<resource group>

<web app with WordPress>

<web app without WordPress>

So, for the empty web app - which is a "peer" to the WordPress web app - how to I get WordPress associated? And is the right way to get two domains up and running with WordPress (does WordPress MU factor in here somewhere)?

Thanks.

Mark