Total Noob to XML - Basic Question RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

Hope someone can help. I have done a fair bit of TSQL but am new to querying XML using SQL and am struggling with some basic concepts.

I have a database with 2 fields, first is "ID", second is "ProfileXML".

The ProfileXML field looks like this (cut down)...

<Profile xmlns="urn:xxxxxxxx">
      <DatabaseRowVersion>"xxxxxxxx="</DatabaseRowVersion>
      <Id>xxxxxxxx</Id>
      <Organization Id="xxxxxxxx" />
      <SecurityPrincipal xmlns:q1="xxxxxxxx" xmlns:p3="xxxxxxxx" p3:type="xxxxxxxx" Name="John Smith" UserName="xxxxxxxx" Email="xxxxxxxx">
      </SecurityPrincipal>
    </Profile>

...I'm trying to return the ID field and the "Name" value from the ProfileXML field and have written this...

SELECT  ProfileID,
            ProfileXML.value('(Profile/SecurityPrincipal/name)[1]','VARCHAR(100)') AS Name
    FROM    Tablename

...but am getting nulls from the XML field in my results.

I know it is a basic question, but we all have to start somewhere I guess.

Cheers,

Chris.

Friday, October 16, 2015 10:44 AM

Answers

• SELECT ProfileID
    ,ProfileXml
    INTO #TempResource4
    FROM dbo.Profile

;WITH XMLNAMESPACES ('urn:Schemas-Zap-BI-Policy' as q1, 'http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance' as p3, DEFAULT 'urn:Schemas-Zap-BI-Components-Security-Profile')

SELECT a.ProfileId,
    b.ProfileXML.value('@Name[1]','varchar(100)') AS Name
    FROM #TempResource4 a
    CROSS APPLY a.ProfileXml.nodes('/Profile/SecurityPrincipal')b(ProfileXML)

Also, name is different from Name. 

Russel Loski, MCT, MCSE Data Platform/Business Intelligence. Twitter: @sqlmovers; blog: www.sqlmovers.com

Friday, October 16, 2015 5:25 PM

All replies

• Hi Chris,

the solution to your problem seems to be very straight forward to me.

You have made a mistake in your X-Path for querying the attribute.

Profile/SecurityPrincipal/name