none
Create an object or alternative approach? RRS feed

• Question

• I have to process cars, where car is at the top-level. At sub-level it has 27 different propertysets like small_tire, medium_tire, large_tire and so on. Each propertyset contains between 2 and 30 properties.

Sub-level properties can be none or X. X can be more than 27 as one car can have more than one small_tire. In the below picture X=3.
    The result will be serialized over JSON to clients/browsers.

Above is an example of how a car could look. I know, my drawing skills rock :-)

The data is imported from external systems via JSON, stored and processed in SQL. All the info ultimately resides in SQL so that's where the information for this question is fetched from.

What would be a good way of achieving this? If you have a code example of something similar, that would be great since that usually gets the point across. I'm only asking about the object/alternative approach, not the serialization. Yes, I'm a c# newbie.

Cheers!

Tuesday, September 10, 2019 10:06 AM

Answers

• If you do not need to manipulate the data, but only pick it up from the SQL server and send it to the browser, and you have a recent version of SQL Server, then there is a very easy solution: Simply send to the server a "select" statement that joins the tables to extract the required fields, and add a "FOR JSON" clause at the end of the query. This will return all the chosen properties as a single block of json that you can directly send to the browser. This requires essentially no C# code (except for the small bit to send the query and retrieve the results).

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/sql/relational-databases/json/format-query-results-as-json-with-for-json-sql-server?view=sql-server-2017

• Marked as answer by IgotStuckAgain Tuesday, September 10, 2019 1:19 PM
    Tuesday, September 10, 2019 1:06 PM