Is Blend for me? RRS feed

• Question

• Ok, I know it's almost impossible to answer that question, whether Blend is for me or not, but here is the background.

I'm a developer with years of experience, 10+ years with WinForms, 2+ years with WPF, and all of my WPF UI development done hand coding xaml in VS2008 and recently in VS2010.

So I have a good grasp on WPF and the workings of WPF and I have done some simple styling for out app and created multiple customer controls, all with simple styling.

Now, I would like to spice up our app, and doing this by hand and run the app to see the change is very tedious and time consuming,  so I installed the trial version of Blend 4 and tried to create a simple test app - but .. I'm pretty lost at how to use Blend, probably because it is geared more towards designers than developers. I have ordered 'Blend Unleashed' and I hope that will help me understand how to use Blend, but my question is:

As a developer, not a designer, is Blend a good choice if I just want to 'spice' up an app?

Thanks

Thursday, October 20, 2011 3:02 PM

All replies

• Note: I am a Microsoft employee, I work on Blend, my opinions here are not unbiased :)

I think it is, for some of the reasons you mentioned. Even if you want to continue hand coding the xaml, the Blend design surface will show your changes without the build + run cycle. You will probably also find as you start to dig into Blend that many of the tedious things you had to do by hand simply become easier, especially around styling.

An example is changing the template of a built in control, you just right click -> edit template -> edit a copy, now you have a copy of the original style, wherever you told Blend to put it, and it is referenced in the control. You are also in a template editing context where you can visually edit the style/template for that control. Just one example.

Thursday, October 20, 2011 3:41 PM