Failed to sign appx file while creating local app package

Question

• I am new to building things in MS.Net world and VisualStudio (I am using evaluation version ultimate 2013).

The app I ve created works just fine and I can see it in emulator but I cannot access camera or other stuff so I decided to put it on my surface rt. As I read there is no beta channel for app store and I have to create app package and run it on my device. 

I was following the http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/hh975357.aspx (and also many resources on web but they seem outdated or unrelated).

I have chosen ARM device release configuration and then hit create button - I get this

Error 102 Failed to sign 'E:\win8.1\MyApp\bin\ARM\Debug\MyApp_1.0.0.9_Bundle\MyApp_1.0.0.9_ARM_Debug.appx'. SignTool Error: An unexpected internal error has occurred.
    C:\Program Files (x86)\MSBuild\Microsoft\VisualStudio\v12.0\AppxPackage\Microsoft.AppXPackage.Targets 1970 9 MyApp

I tried creating certificate in VS (in app manifest - packaging view) but this didnt help at all. where I can find more description about the error because 'An unexpected internal error has occurred' is not very meaningful. 

What am I missing here?

the app itself is simple winJS application, any help appreciated!

thanks!!

Sunday, April 27, 2014 2:23 PM

Answers

• Reinstalling may help.

You don't need to generate a certificate on the manifest-packaging view. That's not needed for creating a test package and may be unnecessary.

If you can build and run an AnyCPU package on the local machine (including via the simulator) then you can use the same package on your ARM machine. Visual Studio will copy it across and install it for you if you follow the instructions I linked previously.

--Rob

Tuesday, April 29, 2014 1:55 AM

All replies

• There's not enough information to say why it is failing. It's likely not something you're doing but may be an install problem. You can try repairing.