none
Macro to highlight yellow all capitalized words in a contract that not defined in the contract. RRS feed

• Question

• As a lawyer, I write contracts that define certain words to have special significance in the contract.   Example:

This Master Services Agreement ("Agreement") is dated effective as of June 6, 2018 ("Effective Date") and is made by ABC Company ("ABC") and XYZ Company ("XYZ"), who shall collectively be referred to herein as the "Parties."  The Parties, intending to be legally bound, agree as follows:

======SAMPLE CONTRACT LANGUAGE START

1. Services.  XYZ shall provide technology consulting services ("Services") to ABC for the 12-month period commencing on the Effective Date ("Term").  XYZ shall provide the Services to ABC using Professional Standards and shall deliver all Deliverables promptly no later than the delivery dates mutually agreed by the Parties in writing.

[Contract goes on...]

======SAMPLE CONTRACT LANGUAGE END

I seek to create a macro that would highlight yellow in the above example, the phrase "Professional Standards" and the word "Deliverables" because neither of those capitalized terms is defined in this snippet of the Agreement.  I've attempted this macro several times, but it's so cumbersome that it takes too long to process, say, a 60-page contract.   I need this macro so I can better proof these contracts for finalization to ensure that all capitalized terms used in the Agreement are defined in it somewhere (i.e. all capitalized terms are defined, within quotes, somewhere in the Agreement).