Good design pattern explanation for Behaviors (Blend 4) RRS feed

• Question

• Hi all,

I've been searching for days and can't seem to find a good breakdown/explanation of how to write my own Behaviors in Blend 4 using C#.  I'm a college student and have a decent understanding of Object Oriented programming as well as a good grasp on the C#.NET language/framework.  I've also read the WPF Unleashed book, so I have the basics of the WPF arhcitecture down.  I've added the Behavior class item to my project and looked at the template, but I don't really understand its parts.  The OnAttached and OnDetaching seem straightforward (hooking up and cleaning up event handlers I'm guessing), but I'm not sure what I'm supposed to do with the following parts:

this

.MyCommand = new ActionCommand(this.MyFunction); // In the constructor

public ICommand MyCommand // A "global level" command such as copy/paste, but why do I need this?

{

get;

private set; // Why only private access modifier for the set?

}

private void MyFunction() // Why the need for this?  Couldn't you just do all functionality in event handlers?

{

// Insert code that defines what the behavior will do when invoked.

}

If anyone could explain the desing pattern here, or point me to a website with info about it, I would greatly appreciate it.  Thanks in advance!

Thursday, February 10, 2011 6:35 AM

All replies

• It might help if you tell us what you are trying to create, then we can guide you through the process, maybe an example would help?
    Thursday, February 10, 2011 2:54 PM
  • Thanks so much, Martin!  I spent all day reading over the information in the above links.  Ultimately http://blog.kirupa.com/?p=378 described the "template" that Blend 4 creates for you when you choose to add a behavior class to your project.  I'm still not entirely sure about how everything works together, but I'm on the right track now.