'System.Data.SqlClient.SqlClientPermission, System.Data, Version=2.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=b77a5c561934e089' fail RRS feed

• Question

• I am a newbie to c#

I have a simple statements to connect to database, execute a query and display in the listbox

string strConnection = "Server=XXX01LXP73406X6;Integrated Security=true;Initial Catalog=AdventureWorks;";

string strCmd = "select ProgramName,ProgramType from ChangeControl";
    SqlDataAdapter dataAdapter = new SqlDataAdapter(strCmd, strConnection);
    DataSet dataset = new DataSet();DataTable dataTable = dataset.Tables[0];
    dataAdapter.Fill(dataset, "ChangeControl"); //changecontrol is the table name

foreach (DataRow row in dataTable.Rows) //lbversion is a listbox
    {
        lbVersion.Items.Add(row["ProgramName"] + "-->" + row["ProgramType"]);

}

I get an error while connecting to database.i am using windows authentication and when i connect to the database directly it works.

"Request for the permission of type 'System.Data.SqlClient.SqlClientPermission, System.Data, Version=2.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=b77a5c561934e089' failed."

Please advice. I appreciate all your help

Thanks,

Kayal.

Wednesday, March 5, 2008 10:55 PM

Answers

• I'm working on my local machine. I changed the .net configuration 2.0 settings in the control panel under administrative tools. In .NET Framework 2.0 configuration, Expand the runtime security policy, expand machine, expand code groups, right click all_code, go to properties, go to permission tab and modified nothing to Full Trust.It worked.

Wednesday, March 12, 2008 5:04 PM

All replies

•  

You don't have the CAS necessary to connect to the sql server. Are you executing the application from a network share? Try giving your application a strong name. Here's a blog entry with more information:

http://blogs.msdn.com/shawnfa/archive/2003/06/20/57023.aspx

Thursday, March 6, 2008 12:30 AM