WebView difficulties RRS feed

• Question

• User394407 posted

I am new to Xamarin and am trying to port an application that I once wrote for Windows Phone to Android, iOS and eventually Duo. I have an html page that i need to display. There is embedded JavaScript in the html. In Windows Phone, once the page was loaded, I was able to execute the code with the following: webBrowser.IsScriptEnabled = true; webBrowser.InvokeScript("InitPage", dayOfWeek.ToString()....) where "InitPage" is a function inside the html document.

(I am using the same html file for this app - I would would rather not change it if not necessary) I have decided to use WebView to display the html. I have added a callback: webView.Navigated += WebView_Navigated; and in the callback, I think i need to call EvaluateJavaScriptAsync

I cannot figure out how to call the InitPage method and pass the required params with it.

ALSO, I can't seem to get the view to scroll.

Am I using the wrong control? I would appreciate any help in getting me past this roadblock thanks

Tuesday, May 5, 2020 3:12 PM

Answers

• User382871 posted

Try to define the JavaScript function in a HTML file. Check the link. string result = await webView.EvaluateJavaScriptAsync($"factorial({number})"); Html code:

<script type="text/javascript">

function factorial(num) {

}

</script>

If you want to call EvaluateJavaScriptAsync function using a script string directly, you need to inject the JavaScript code in the onPageFinished method of WebViewClient. You could google the keyword with Inject JavaScript into Android WebView to check the related tutorial on native android.

Friday, May 15, 2020 8:18 AM

All replies

• User382871 posted

I cannot figure out how to call the InitPage method and pass the required params with it. You could create a custom WebView and achieve the function in each platform project.