none
Help with specific (but random!) crashes in EW4 SP1 RRS feed

• Question

• G'day,

I've been using EW4 SP1 for a few months now, dipping in to bring myself up to speed as needed. However, this last week I've spent about 30 hours working in EW4, and I've had to redo a huge amount of work due to random (but specific) crashes. By this, I mean EW4 crashes out after a random period of time - an hour, 10 hours, 2 hours, 3 hours (from my crash data) - but nearly always in response to a particular action : deleting highlighted text.

My workaround is to save all my files repeatedly before marking or deleting text, but that's not really satisfactory.

I've been through most of the "EW Crashes" postings here, and I understand that I probably need to raise a support issue, but I don't want to be billed hundreds of dollars if this turns out to be a non-EW bug! Since it only happens in EW, and only in certain specific conditions, I assume it IS an EW bug, but I daren't take the risk!

So I  thought I'd ask here first, and see if anyone can suggest a method of attack to help figure out where it's going off the rails.

The problem occurs mostly when I've selected some text within a p tag with the mouse, and press either the delete key or the backspace key. EW then seizes up and reports the crash dialog.

Occasionally, this also happens when I select a whole p tag (by clicking on the tag handle above the paragraph) and pressing delete or backspace.

I started a debug session this last time, and the debug output was as follows :

'ExpressionWeb.exe': Loaded 'C:\Windows\Microsoft.NET\Framework\v4.0.30319\diasymreader.dll'
    Unhandled exception at 0x56074458 in ExpressionWeb.exe: 0xC0000005: Access violation reading location 0x00000094.
    First-chance exception at 0x56074458 in ExpressionWeb.exe: 0xC0000005: Access violation reading location 0x00000094.
    The thread 'Win32 Thread' (0x4d0) has exited with code 0 (0x0).