Xamarin.Android Subscription is required RRS feed

• Question

• User89285 posted

Hello,

Im trying to evaluate the software and using Xamarin Android player as my target device I get the error: Xamarin.Andorid subscription is required to use this beta. Please login.

However I am logged in via the Xamarin studio and via the website I cant find any way to add a subscription to this service. Is it a paid for service I need to look for somewhere or available in one of the paid for accounts ? I would really like to give this feature a try before committing to purchase the software.

I look forward to hearing back from you.

Monday, November 24, 2014 12:46 AM

Answers

• User48786 posted

For anyone else having this problem on OSX, my issue seemed to be that I installed the player app on a different drive than xam studio. As soon as I installed it on the same drive it opened fine. (I have a business subscription)

• Marked as answer by Anonymous Thursday, June 3, 2021 12:00 AM
    Tuesday, February 17, 2015 4:11 PM
  • User68584 posted

@BenBrown.7725

Here's what I did this morning that got me further along. Maybe this will help you figure something out:

Logged-in to the admin account (first time ever on this Mac)

Launched XS (first time ever as admin)

XS "Account..." showed something like "Unidentified Code Monkey" and iOS and Mac subscriptions (Starter I believe - not Indie, anyway)

At this point I remembered your script, so I ran it in Terminal. Same as before: Starter edition detected

Back in XS, logged-in to my Xamarin account

XS "Account..." showed my account info, but only iOS and Mac Indie subscriptions (no Android)

After a bit, I found that I needed to point the XS android sdk and ndk settings at my standard account's ~/Library/Developer/Xamarin/... paths. Kinda non-intuitive (needed to set permissions on the other account's ~/Library directory so admin account could access it).

Now XS "Account..." showed iOS, Mac, and Android Indie subscriptions