Problems setting chart source data in Excel RRS feed

• Question

• I hope this isn't too basic a question for this forum. I'm a complete VBA newbie, and still struggling with the basic syntax.

I'm trying to programmatically generate a series of charts from a set of data in Excel. I've created a chart and formatted it the way I want, and now just need to iterate through the data by changing the source data range, updating the chart, and exporting it. Everything seems to be working fine, except I can't set the data range properly.

When I set the range manually, everything works fine. For example, this line works:

ActiveChart.SetSourceData Source:=ActiveWorkbook.Sheets("Google-PVs").Range("A3:I3")

But when I try to change the range by using variables, like this:

ActiveChart.SetSourceData Source:=ActiveWorkbook.Sheets("Google-PVs").Range(Cells(i, 1), Cells(i, LastCol))

I get a run-time error '1004': Application-defined or object-defined error. I think it must be the syntax I'm using, because even when I hard-code the cell references, like below, I get the same error:

ActiveChart.SetSourceData Source:=ActiveWorkbook.Sheets("Google-PVs").Range(Cells(2, 1), Cells(2, 9))

Any ideas what I'm doing wrong here? This is driving me crazy!

Thanks,

Andy

Wednesday, January 26, 2011 5:19 AM

Answers

• "Cells" without a parent qualifier refers to the active sheet.  Try...

With ActiveWorkbook.Sheets("Google-PVs")
    ActiveChart.SetSourceData Source:=.Range(.Cells(2, 1), .Cells(2, 9))
    End With
    '---
    Note the "dots" in front of Cells.
    '---
    Jim Cone
    Portland, Oregon USA
    http://www.mediafire.com/PrimitiveSoftware
    (Bingo Card Variety - in the free folder)

• Marked as answer by AndyWa Wednesday, January 26, 2011 5:54 PM
    Wednesday, January 26, 2011 5:49 AM

All replies

• "Cells" without a parent qualifier refers to the active sheet.  Try...

With ActiveWorkbook.Sheets("Google-PVs")