Azure DB permission issue RRS feed

• Question

• I'm relatively new to Azure Sql Database coming from on-prem. Moved to database firewall rules from server level so only "dba's" can connect to all DBs with elevated permissions. A developers AD group was the AD admin and was replaced with a new DBA AD group. I was in this developers group but was removed after being added to the DBA AD group. The server admin is not the developers group. Added relevant IPs to db firewall rules and removed all but our public IP from server firewall rules. Added the developers group as a contained user in each db with Select, Execute and View Definition at the db level. All seemed fine but the intention is to restrict developers group from creating objects on this server. However, I can connect using developers@mycompany.com and can create dbo objects. The developers group is not in any db roles and is not a user in master and does not own the db in question.  I dropped the developers group as a db user but was still able to connect although I didn't wait long before adding it back. What am I missing? Thanks in advance!

Friday, March 29, 2019 5:30 PM

All replies

• Hi,

In your specific case, you may have some remaining role assignment that is granting access to developers@mycompany.com such as in the Active Directory role/group assignment?! Hard to reverse engineer without looking around. What I have detailed below is the process for setting this up. 

This is the document when it comes to configuring Azure Active Directory authentication with Azure SQL. It covers all PaaS deployment options (SQL Single Instance, Elastic Pools, Managed Instance, Data Warehouse) and covers all authentication methods. You do need to be aware that there are explicit instructions for "Managed Instance" and "SQL Database Server". So, assuming you have an Azure SQL Database (Single Instance or Elastic Pools), you would step through the document as follows:

Create and populate an Azure Active Directory