none
User input in C# RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

I am new to C# and I'm trying to make Sign in and Sign up app.

I tried to make that when user writes in email textbox that if it doesn't have @gmail.com or @hotmail.com, program pops up a message saying "Please enter a valid email"

This is how I did it:

if (txtEmail.Text ...) // here I didn't know how to make script { MessageBox.Show ("Please enter a valid email form"); }

Best regards,

Gliske

Wednesday, December 26, 2018 2:29 PM

Answers

• There are a lot of examples you will find to validate the email as input from user. See the following post:

https://stackoverflow.com/a/1374644/1875256

[If a post helps to resolve your issue, please click the "Mark as Answer" of that post or click Answered"Vote as helpful" button of that post. By marking a post as Answered or Helpful, you help others find the answer faster. ]

Blog | LinkedIn | Stack Overflow | Facebook
    profile for Ehsan Sajjad on Stack Exchange, a network of free, community-driven Q&A sites

• Edited by Ehsan Sajjad Wednesday, December 26, 2018 2:45 PM
    • Marked as answer by Gliske Wednesday, December 26, 2018 7:03 PM
    Wednesday, December 26, 2018 2:44 PM
  • If you want to validate only @hotmail.com and @gmail.com you can use string.EndsWith method. 

if (!textbox1.Text.ToLower().EndsWith("@gmail.com") && !textbox1.Text.ToLower().EndsWith("@hotmail.com"))
        MessageBox.Show("Email is not valid");

• Edited by Petr B Wednesday, December 26, 2018 3:44 PM
    Wednesday, December 26, 2018 3:44 PM

All replies

• There are a lot of examples you will find to validate the email as input from user. See the following post:

https://stackoverflow.com/a/1374644/1875256

[If a post helps to resolve your issue, please click the "Mark as Answer" of that post or click Answered"Vote as helpful" button of that post. By marking a post as Answered or Helpful, you help others find the answer faster. ]

Blog | LinkedIn | Stack Overflow | Facebook