serialport.datareceived event RRS feed

• Question

• Hi all,

Coming to you again with a question on serial port (I am still a beginner)!
    here is an extract of the code :

Private Sub serialport_DataReceived(ByVal sender As Object, ByVal e As SerialDataReceivedEventArgs) Handles SerialPort1.DataReceived
    Try
    Me.BeginInvoke(New StringSubPointer(AddressOf Display), SerialPort1.ReadExisting)
    Catch ex As Exception
    MsgBox(
    "Form_RS232 : Serialport_data_Received" & Environment.NewLine & ex.Message, MsgBoxStyle.Information) : End Try
    End Sub

Private
    Sub Display(ByVal Buffer As String)
    Try
    Buffer = UCase(Buffer)
    If Buffer.Contains("ERROR") Then : MsgBox("Error") : End If
    If Buffer.StartsWith("S") Then
    Form_RFM_Registers.ComboBox_SEB.Text = Mid(Buffer, 5, 1) : Form_LFR_registers.ComboBox_SEB.Text = Mid(Buffer, 5, 1) End If
    If Form_Receive_LF_Data.RadioButton_LF_Reception_Status.Checked = True Then
    Form_Receive_LF_Data.TextBox_ReceivedFrame.AppendText(Buffer & Environment.NewLine) : End If

Catch ex As Exception : MsgBox("Form_RS232 : Display" & Environment.NewLine & ex.Message, MsgBoxStyle.Information) : End Try

End Sub

My problem is that my buffer is always empty but connecting an hyper terminal window, my product answered correctly.
    Why is that ?
    What did I do wrong ?

thanks for your support,

Regards,

Sof.

Tuesday, January 6, 2009 2:19 PM

Answers

• my serial port routines

http://www.vbforums.com/showthread.php?t=530790
    Tuesday, January 6, 2009 6:12 PM
  • For continuous high-speed operation it may be better to use Invoke instead of BeginInvoke as I wrote previously.

There are pro's and contra's with BeginInvoke and Invoke.