Combining results from single dataset with multiple values of one parameter: SSRS to wcf service RRS feed

• Question

• Hi all..I am new to ssrs and learning various different aspects.

Our SSRS is connected to WCF service layer. I have one parameter Order Number in the report. (WCF is based on order number as well).As the business requirements changed, i need to build a report using multiple order number in a single report. Is it possible to do that without changing wcf? Is it possible to combine the results from ssrs using different values of single paramater with some expression?

here is my query for wcf:

<Query>
    <Method Name="testRequest" Namespace="http://tempuri.org/">
    <Parameters>
    <Parameter Name="OrderNumber"><DefaultValue>111111</DefaultValue></Parameter>
    </Parameters>
    </Method>
    <SoapAction>http://tempuri.org/testService/GettestForOrderNumber
    </SoapAction>
    </Query>

Currently i am getting results like :  

Order number :11111

results in one column only

I want to have something like this:

Order number 11111     order number 222    orderNumber 333

results                              results                         results

thanks!

Tuesday, October 2, 2012 10:28 PM

Answers

• Hi Cornerquery,

From your description, you want to pass the parameter from the report to the WCF Web Service. For a multi-value parameter, the parameter value is a array which cannot be displayed in a textbox directly. So, if you place "[@OrderID]" in a textbox and the user selects more than one values for it, it displays "#Error" at run time. To get the expected report, the dataset field should contains all of the available values of the parameter. Then, we can drag the corresponding field into the matrix. Please understand that the parameter only helps us to filter the report data which are from the result set of the dataset query.