Multiple runs of same stored procedure RRS feed

• Question

• I am an SSIS newbie so please excuse how little I know.

We have a manual job that I would like to automate in SSIS.

We run the same stored procedure six times with different parameters. Each run creates a csv file that we load into excel and then mail the attachments to the user. Can SSIS run the SP, and in a send mail task, send the six outputs?

Monday, September 22, 2014 1:12 PM

Answers

• Changing the stored procedure to cast everything to nvarchar got rid of the error messages.
    Tuesday, September 30, 2014 12:32 PM
  • Put it after your insert.

Usually if you're getting an issue like this, it means your excel file wasn't already empty.

Thursday, October 16, 2014 4:06 PM
  • Patrick:

Now it works. Cutting the template file to 27 lines or whatever the Excel default is fixed it.

Thanks for your patient unending efforts. Does my solution make sense to an expert like you?

Thursday, October 16, 2014 4:29 PM

All replies

• Yes SSIS can do all the jobs you described.
    Monday, September 22, 2014 1:14 PM
  • You can even do them in parallel 6 data flow tasks running the stored procedure that write to CSV file outputs.

And then a Mail Task to send the e-mails.

Don't forget since the attachment won't be around until you create the csv files to mark "Delay Validation" (or have dummy files and overwrite them).

Monday, September 22, 2014 1:18 PM

• Regards, RSingh

Monday, September 22, 2014 2:12 PM
  • You seem to imply that your stored proc is also creating the CSV with data. Usually I'd just let the stored proc populate a staging table with the data and let SSIS tasks to handle the export to CSV and the email part.