InfoPath 2007 and SharePoint 2007 Standard RRS feed

• Question

• I am pretty new with InfoPath 2007 License. Can anyone tell me how InfoPath 2007 license works with SharePoint 2007.

Basically, we would like to create a web form where everyone can fill out. Once it is submitted, it will go to our custom list in SharePoint. I want to make sure that users don't need InfoPath client installed locally.

We currently have SharePoint 2007 standard (not enterprise). Do we need Enteprise? We have more than 350 users on site.

thanks,

Christophe

• Moved by Mike Walsh FIN Tuesday, June 29, 2010 3:57 PM InfoPath 2007 questions go to the InfoPath forum (From:SharePoint - General Question and Answers and Discussion (pre-SharePoint 2010))
    Tuesday, June 29, 2010 2:57 PM

Answers

• John, the only option now is to upgrade to Enterprise, because Forms Server is no longer sold nor available.  It used to be available, so you were spot on with the advice except that there just is no longer a Forms Server option.

Christophe, one other thing is that you don't submit a web form to a list.  When you have a browser form, it is rendered from a form library - that is where the form lives and where the data is submitted as an XML file.  To get data from that form into an actual list would require custom code or special CAML customization.  I just wanted to point that, because the way you stated it seemed as if you had different expectations than how InfoPath behaves in SharePoint.

SharePoint Architect || Microsoft MVP || My Blog
    Wednesday, June 30, 2010 4:24 AM

All replies

• Christophe --

If you want to allow users to complete browser-based InfoPath forms without having the InfoPath 2007 client installed locally, you have a couple of options: