none
WCF - How to dynamically switch between databases? RRS feed

• Question

• I'm a newbie to BizTalk, and I have a situation where I need to access a number of databases containing the same table structure on six different SQL instances. I'd like to use the WCF adapter to perform this, but I'm not sure how to dynamically switch the database binding to poll each database. I've looked at several articles on this, and it appears I need to use WCF channel model access, but again I'm not sure. Anyone tried this before, or do you have any suggestions? Any help would be greatly appreciated!
    Tuesday, May 21, 2013 8:00 PM

Answers

• Can you clarify a bit, are you saying you have about 150 (nearly) identical databases across 6 instances of SQL Server and you'd like to poll the same table in each?

Hmm...ok.  First, there's no way to dynamically change a Receive Location in the way you're asking.

You can create a db that the BizTalk app owns and join the tables with a view.  Use a trigger to write records to a queue table in the BizTalk owned database.  You could use dynamic-ish sql in a stored procedure and union the results.

How about this, keep a table of the tables to query and poll that.  Push the results to an Orchestration and build a dynamic Solicit-Response that queries the table in each database.  What instance it's in is largely irrelevant.

Wednesday, May 22, 2013 2:29 PM

All replies

• You say "poll each database", so I assume you are referring to a Receive Location here? If so you can just have 6 different Receive Locations in one Receive Port each pointing to an individual SQL instance. 

If you are referring to a Solicit-Response Send Port? I think it would depend on how you trigger these Send Ports and whether the addresses of the instances and the number of them are fixed, if not I would consider a dynamic Send Port otherwise I would make 6 static Solicit-Reponse Ports and trigger them as desired. 

Morten la Cour

Wednesday, May 22, 2013 4:34 AM