Binding a local mdb (MSAccess) file to Windows 8.1 app - VB

Question

• Can anyone please help me? I have been spoiled by the WPF interface of binding ole db (MS Access mdb) database files to my apps but I am now lost how to proceed with the Windows 8 apps XAML/VB. I can easily add a data connection from the database explorer but going further I am simply stuck. True enough I am a newbie, but I cannot seem to figure this out on my own. Can anyone offer me step-by-step instructions how to achieve this? So I have a local mdb database file (OLE DB) and I am attempting to display specific data into either a textbox, grid, or another such output control. After I add the data source, how should I proceed?

Thank you,

Eddie

Wednesday, May 7, 2014 8:01 PM

Answers

All replies

• Hi,

You cannot direct connect ole db in windows store app. If you want to talk to a ole db you're going to need to use some kind of other protocol (WebService, SOAP, WCF, etc.). If you want to talk to local database,I recommend you can use SQLite Database in windows store app. You can refer to the links in the below:

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/windows/apps/dn263243.aspx

http://blogs.msdn.com/b/robertgreen/archive/2012/11/13/using-sqlite-in-windows-store-apps.aspx

And see the sample:

http://code.msdn.microsoft.com/windowsapps/Using-SQLite-and-sqlite-79efa172

http://code.msdn.microsoft.com/windowsapps/Sqlite-For-Windows-8-Metro-2ec7a882

Best Wishes!

We are trying to better understand customer views on social support experience, so your participation in this interview project would be greatly appreciated if you have time. Thanks for helping make community forums a great place.
    Click HERE to participate the survey. Thanks<br/> MSDN Community Support<br/> <br/> Please remember to &quot;Mark as Answer&quot; the responses that resolved your issue. It is a common way to recognize those who have helped you, and makes it easier for other visitors to find the resolution later.