none
Behaviour of Quick Find in VS2015 Community suddenly changed

Question

• Using Visual Studio 2015 Community version with Windows 10....

The Quick Find dialog sits in the top left-hand corner of the IDE client window. It does not have captions and borders and is much smaller than the traditional Find and Find & Replace dialogs in older versions of Visual Studio.

I have been using VS2015 community version for about 6 months. A couple of days ago it stopped launching a search on single key press. Now I have to press Enter (CRLF) to make the IDE search.

How can I get the search on key press back? And what could have stopped it working?
    Inadvertently, pressing the wrong key or command???
    Tuesday, October 18, 2016 12:10 PM

All replies

• Hi kenresander,

Thank you for posting in MSDN forum.

For question 1 about the Quick Find dialog :

Try to reproduce this issue, I compare the VS 2015 Quick Find dialog with vs 2013:

(1) VS 2015:

(2)vs 2013:

They are the same size actually, so how about telling us the older versions of Visual Studio you point to?

If you think that this dialog is much smaller, currently we could stretch width of this dialog by dragging the left border-bottom.

Meanwhile,  I have submit this suggestion about enlarging the Quick Find Dialog to  UserVoice, Microsoft engineers will evaluate them seriously, please see the following thread:

https://visualstudio.uservoice.com/forums/121579-visual-studio-ide/suggestions/16720897-enlarge-the-quick-find-dialog-of-the-vs-2015-commu

For question 2:

How can I get the search on key press back? And what could have stopped it working?

By default we press "Ctrl+F" to open the Search dialog, there could be some compatibility between VS and third-party add-inns. I suggest you can try some devenv switches in command prompt check if it can help you: