none
Sent column in the drafts folder. SentOn date in the MailItem of Outlook object model RRS feed

• Question

• Background:

2 Weeks ago our Exchange server was migrated from 2003 to 2013.

I am a developer at a company which develops software which integrates with outlook

After the upgrade, the software suddenly stopped being able to open draft emails. This was never an issue for us before the migration happened.

I managed to track this down to a bit of old code that checked the SentOn property of the draft MailItem before it opened it, which now seems to have a sent date which is different to 4501/01/01 ( which I believe was the old default?).

Based on this date being set, the code path changes to open the item as a Sent MailItem, which means that any further changes which are made to the so called 'draft' are not retained, this resulted in a lot of blank emails being sent, and a lot of unhappy people.

Information:

Issue occurs in Outlook 2010, Outlook 2013 and Outlook 2016 (these I have confirmed and tested)

Connection to exchange is with cached exchange mode OFF. It cannot be turned on in our terminal server environment.

Outside of the terminal server environment with cached exchange mode ON, this issue does not exist. With it turned off, the issue is exactly the same as the terminal server experience.

Note:

Obviously there has been 10 years between the exchange server versions we have used, so as far as I know this issue could have appeared at any time during that, but I do not have any way of narrowing down the time at which this issue may have started.

Couple of questions:

1. Why is there a sent column in the drafts folder inside of outlook? is this not the most absurd thing ever? A draft with a sent date? Was this because people complained about ordering their drafts folder so often? (google the issue and you will see this) - this really frustrates me when I see it.