COM Interop RRS feed

• Question

• hi! I am trying to Interop between VB and Managed C++ dll. In the DLL i wish to call the VB methods and then to expose the same to C# (windows form application), but for now COM interop is my concern. I have an Interop.dll provided with the VB project which i have referenced to the managed C++ project.

(A).I know that C++/CLI needs the MSIL files. For which i also know i need to uses "tlbimp" to convert/generate the MSIL files for the C++/CLI to access the same.

question 1:Are my presumptions right with respect to (A), if so, I tried to use the "tlbimp" , in the C++/CLI project. But i got errors lie C2143,C2146,C4430,C2086,C2447. Does the use of "tlbimp" require initiation of regasm.exe? 

(B). I get an error when i try the following: using System.Runtime.InteropServices; errors: C2143,C2873,C2059 WHY?

I am new to wrappers, so if any ambiguity, please let me know.

Thanks in advance.

Monday, June 18, 2012 11:11 AM

Answers

• There's not enough info here, so I'll guess:

1. The VB thing is a VB6 Dll, COM, therefore it's Win32 COM and needs registering before it can be called.

2. You should be able to create an interop dll by doing an Add Reference and browsing to the Dll (there are some details here I'm skipping) because the interop needs access to the type library that's usually embedded in a COM Dll.

3. Once you have a managed interop Dll, you do not need to register it at all. All that's happening is that it's a mapping thing to call into the COM Dll. The interop Dll itself is not a COM Dll, it's just a wrapper that maps from managed code to unmanaged COM.

Phil Wilson

Wednesday, June 20, 2012 7:23 PM
  • Hi Sheetansh,

Please take a look at this thread: http://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/clr/thread/de001f70-604a-4eef-815a-c526f2bd2264/#de001f70-604a-4eef-815a-c526f2bd2264

I have post my opinion in that thread.

Best regards,

Mike Feng
    MSDN Community Support | Feedback to us