none
Why doesn't the 64 bit install of Adapter PAck 2.0 work on Windows Server 2008 64 bit? RRS feed

• Question

• Sounds like a bizarre question but when I try installing the x64 MSI of the Adapter Pack on Windows Server 2008 it does not work.

When I install the x86 MSI it does!

Surely this was tested - I hope I am a "special" case here. And yes I am an admin on the box, and I tried running it from explorer and both the system32 and SysWOW64 command prompts using msiexec as well to no avail. And I did all this more than twice with respect to uninstalling and reinstalling.

I did not try and update the machine.config file to get it to work, maybe this does the job but until I see something official in regards to doing it I'm not going to "hack" it.

And on a side note using the default WiX icons for an installer package that requires a license from Microsoft is pretty poor form in my opinion as well - how hard is to add an icon to a Wix installer?!?!??!

Thursday, September 3, 2009 10:57 PM

Answers

• Hi,

Please see the first comment below the blog-

"Biztalk Administration Console is actully a snapin for MMC which is a 32-bit process.

So,the steps mentioned for Visual Studio 2005 also applies to Biztalk Administration Console.

Please note that there is a Seperate process called BTSNTSvc.exe for hosting the adapter-runtime(On 64-bit machine, 32-bit biztalk process is BTSNTSvc.exe and the 64-bit process is BTSNTSvc64.exe).

So, if you just want to host the service on the 64-bit production machine(BTSNTSvc64.exe will pick up 64-bit adapter dlls), then the 32-bit dlls are  not required, but if you want to access the Biztalk Administration Console and configure the adapter from the same machine then, you need to install the 32- bit version of the adapter as well."

Monday, September 7, 2009 6:41 AM

All replies

• Do you get an error you could mention?