Search Engine Optimization RRS feed

• Question

• Having recently used PivotViewer to create http://zoomappy.com, I was curious about how effective this technology is with respect to Search Engine Optimization (SEO). I want to leverage as much as I can with the search engines given the amount of content served up through the pivot collections. Otherwise, it'll just get buried down below other sites that achive have higher rankings.

Does anyone know how the search engines see this content and whether it's optimized for SEO? If there are limitations, can this be addressed in future iteretions or just something that can't possibly be achieved in this form?

I am not an SEO expert but I know enough to want to take full advantage of the work I am doing to boost my site rating. Any advice on this topic is greatly appreciated.

Saturday, July 31, 2010 4:36 PM

Answers

All replies

• Thanks for the link! It provided some very useful information. From it, I was able to takeaway a few things that I need to think about with respect to my project:

1. Use a hybrid Asp.net and Silverlight approach so you can generate text to the browser outside of the Silverlight application. I don't think the search engine crawlers can process .XAP files so any content within the Silverlight application (as with Flash) won't be seen by the search engine bots. If you don't care about search engine ranking, this is not a big deal. In my case, it's a very big deal.

2. Provide links to all .CXML files your site uses with the pivotviewer. I plan to have multiple files with different collections to view. By providing links, the search engines (my assumption) can process the XML data and take full advantage of the content your pivotviewer is rendering.