SSL for SQL Server Instance RRS feed

• Question

• I must admit that I'm a little new to the SQL Server DBA role however I have been doing ok up to this point.  We had a self-signed certificate for our primary instance of SQLServer and just recently had a test certificate issued from a trusted CA.  This certificate was issued for a hostname; the DNS zone for that server has an A name which points that host name to our locally hosted/managed SQL server.  I am able to connect to the instance fine by using this method.  The problem I'm having is that the subject line of the SSL certificate lists the hostname and as such, SQL server will not let me use it because it does not match the machine name/hostname. 

Our problem is that we don't use LDAP/AD so I'm kind'a confused as to how we would get around this limitation.  Any thoughts?

Thursday, January 12, 2012 5:37 PM

Answers

• If you check the blog, Ken, you will find that there are a few things that need to be done here:-

1) Create a SSL certificate with the "Subject Alternative Name" field: - In such a scenario, the certificate should have the "SUBJECT ALTERNATIVE NAME" field enabled, and this should contain the actual name or FQDN of the SQL Server.

2) Create DNS CNAME record(s) which map the alias(es) to the "actual" name of SQL server

3) Create a single DNS A record for that "actual" name of the SQL Server.

So, in short, you cannot see the certificate because it has not been generated with the correct set of values. In order for a certificate to be used with SQL, it must be generated with the Subject name indicating that the Common Name (CN) is the same as the hostname or FQDN of the actual server which has SQL Server installed.(refer the Certificate Requirements section in http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms189067.aspx)