none
How do I inject click and combo box select event into windows application using vbscript RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I am new to vb.net, I need to do sample 5+6=11 operation in calculator windows application. I have the class attributes for respective data as num5Button(5), plusbutton(+), num6Button(6) and equalButton(=). I did  up to this:

Set WshShell = WScript.CreateObject("WScript.Shell")

WshShell.Run "calc"

HWND = WshShell.WinGetHandle("Calculator") // this line is throwing error

but  i did this in autoit script as 

Open up Calculator
    Run('calc.exe');

WinWaitActive('Calculator');

Get the handle for Calculator
    $hWnd = WinGetHandle('Calculator') ;
    click 5
    ControlClick($hWnd, "", "[CLASSNN:num5Button]");

click +
    ControlClick($hWnd,"","[CLASSNN:plusButton]");

click 6
    ControlClick($hWnd,"","[CLASSNN:num6Button]");

click =
    ControlClick($hWnd,"","[CLASSNN:equalButton]")

How should do the same process in VBScript instead of using sendkeys in VBScript? Is anyone knows please help me to resolve this

• Moved by Bill_Stewart Wednesday, November 1, 2017 12:25 PM Move to more appropriate forum
    Wednesday, November 1, 2017 5:50 AM

All replies

•  Your question is not clear as to weather you want to do this in VB.Net or if you want to do this in VBScript.  You say you are new to VB.Net but,  you are asking how to do it in VbScript.  Please clarify what language you are using.

If it is VB.Net that you are using and you want to do in Vb.Net what you have shown VbScript for then the below example will let you send a String array or List of the buttons to calculator and get the result back too.  It will work if calculator is minimized,  in the background,  or in the foreground.  It is only set up for Calculator set to the Basic mode as shown in the animated image at the bottom of this post.

I have only tested it with Windows 7 so,  not sure if it will work with calculator in Windows 8, 9, and 10.