none
[Excel column width]How to calculate maximum digit width?(I am a C++ programmer) RRS feed

• Question

• Hello everyone,

This question might be related to the post

https://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/9a6a9785-66ad-4b6b-bb9f-74429381bd72/margin-padding-in-cell-excel?forum=os_binaryfile&forum=os_binaryfile

The problem is that I am using a 4k monitor, which is 3840*2160 resolution, the Excel default  column width is 9.09(96 Pixcels,) according to Microsoft's calculation formula:

width = Truncate ([{Number of Characters}*{Maximum Digit Width} + {5 pixel padding}]/{Maximum Digit Width}*256)/256

the thing is that maximum digit width will be a large, unrealistic number. Does this mean there is a problem with formula? and why/how?

Thanks,
    Frost
    Thursday, November 30, 2017 4:18 PM

All replies

• Hello everyone,

This question might be related to the post

https://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/9a6a9785-66ad-4b6b-bb9f-74429381bd72/margin-padding-in-cell-excel?forum=os_binaryfile&forum=os_binaryfile

The problem is that I am using a 4k monitor, which is 3840*2160 resolution, the Excel default  column width is 9.09(96 Pixcels,) according to Microsoft's calculation formula:

width = Truncate ([{Number of Characters}*{Maximum Digit Width} + {5 pixel padding}]/{Maximum Digit Width}*256)/256

the thing is that maximum digit width will be a large, unrealistic number. Does this mean there is a problem with formula? and why/how?

Thanks,

Frost

• Edited by Frostge95 Thursday, November 30, 2017 4:14 PM
    • Merged by Chenchen Li Friday, December 1, 2017 1:49 AM duplicated
    Thursday, November 30, 2017 4:06 PM
  • You can't use such a simple formula to get the width of a text, resp. the optimal width of a column.

https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/windows/desktop/dd144938(v=vs.85).aspx