How to display a count of search results with keywords in a label? RRS feed

• Question

• User963835749 posted

Sorry for a basic post here; I am very new to VB!

I am currently building a search page, which includes a textbox and two drop-down lists, a search button, and a datagrid. If results are found and displayed, I would like a label to display:

(e.g.) "24 results found for 'blue sky clouds' "

...where the integer represents the results count, and the keywords and/or drop-down list selections are included in the string.

If no results are found I would like the label to display:

(e.g.) "No results were found that match your selection. Please try again"

I would also like the label to be invisible until a search occurs.

Thanks in advance!

Monday, March 8, 2010 6:00 PM

Answers

• User-725220842 posted

I would first like to give you the steps on how to do it. If you face any difficulties I shall assist you.

1. Query the database from within the application & fetch the results for the desired search keyword (here - blue sky clouds).
    2. Count the number of rows that have been returned as a result to the query.
    3. If the number of rows is > 0 then the number is your result count. Now we set the label's text to the message you require i.e. 24 results found for the keyword blue sky clouds.
      lblResults.text = no_of_rows.ToString+" results found for the keyword "+txtKeyword.text
    4. If the number of rows is 0 we write the error message as requested.
      lblResults.text = "No results found for the keyword "+txtKeyword.text

To make the label invisible add this attribute to the declaration of the label "visible = false"

And when you wish to display the message ensure that the label is visible by typing

lblResults.visible = true

Hope that helps.

• Marked as answer by Anonymous Thursday, October 7, 2021 12:00 AM
    Monday, March 8, 2010 11:45 PM
  • User963835749 posted