none
Help needed: Copy a Line from One Word Document to Other! RRS feed

• Question

• I have some experience with Excel VBA (to clarify about my VBA background) and I do not know much about Word VBA (almost zero knowledge). Here's the complete scenario.

1. There are many departments and they prepare their own weekly report. Each report contains bulleted points under Headings like "Pending Items", "Planned Items" etc. Number of bulleted points vary.

2. So using these individual reports, Main report is created which is more or less compilation of all reports. This is being done manually as of now.

So is it possible to create the main report using word VBA like:
    1. All departmental reports will be collected in a folder [manually].
    2. When the macro in Main Report is run then it will loop through selected folder & all word docs.
    3. Each department Doc will be opened and the bulleted points under each tab will be copied and pasted under Dept. Heading in Main Report.

This will save a lot of manhours and headache.
    Kindly advice me, if it is a feasible idea? At this point, I am trying to search Word VBA book.

I have posted this on a forum of which I am a regular member (Excel). The thread and attachments can be found here.

http://www.vbaexpress.com/forum/showthread.php?t=38693

Thank you for looking into it. I hope to get good advice.

Saturday, August 20, 2011 3:19 PM

Answers

• Hi shrivallabha

<<Maybe if you could provide me the outline of the approach then one of IT guys in the office can then fix it up.>>

I did provide the outline of an approach in the questions of my last reply. Given what I know about your requirements, that's how I'd consider going about it. But I cannot know how the users in the organisation function and what constraints you can enforce. So only you can decide whether the suggestion is workable.