Unable to install lightswitch desktop Application for out-of-browser use RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

I'm a beginner in lightswitch. I create a desktop app with intraseq database. Just a simple table with 2 columns. I publish it to my azure website and database. Everything is fine.

When I go to mysite/DesktopClient, I have the install button but when I click on it, it says (I try to traduce the french message...) : This application cannot be save for out of browser use and I can't install it.

When i choose Web in the desktopclient properties, everything is fine within the web browser. I can use the app from my azure website

Am I missing something ?

Thanks for you help and sorry if this question was already answered, I spent a bunch of time, but I don't see what's wrong.

• Edited by JPO59 Sunday, October 12, 2014 11:30 PM
    Sunday, October 12, 2014 11:02 PM

Answers

All replies

• I used it several times from IIS on-promise server that works fine. If Azure complains it can not work from outside browser assume that it is not supported. But perhaps i am wrong.

Eric

Monday, October 13, 2014 8:59 AM
  • Thanks for your answer Eric.

I'm not sure I get it though... Why it should not be supported ?

I tried to follow many tutorials like the one that Beth Massi did but it seems that the way to do it slightly change since the VS 2013

Monday, October 13, 2014 9:31 AM
  • I've installed SL client in OOB without problem on azure websites, but SSL cert is required when deploy it.

I've used self-signed cert ;-)

Monday, October 13, 2014 9:45 AM
  • Thanks fileman,

When I used the deployment wizard, i specify an auto generate certificate. When I followed Beth Massi's tutorial, she was talking about importing the certificate to the azure server but I can't manage how to do it in the new portal interface.

Should I somehow exporting the certificate to the azure server ?

Thanks

Monday, October 13, 2014 9:59 AM
  • Hello again,