newbie to asp.net mobile applications RRS feed

• Question

• User-1484697202 posted

Hi All,

I am a novice in developing mobile web applications but considerable experience in developing desktop web application. I have few basic questions

1. Is it necessary to develop app using mobile controls and mobile forms??What if I develop site using normal web form keeping in mind the mobile screen size and resolution?

2. Where can I get a list of mobile browsers supporting HTML and the one's not supporting HTML?

3. How can I test my app in various mobile browsers?

Any help in this regard will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks and Regards,

Monday, April 13, 2009 12:09 AM

Answers

• User1837974337 posted

answers to your questions:

1. Is it necessary to develop app using mobile controls and mobile forms??What if I develop site using normal web form keeping in mind the mobile screen size and resolution?

Microsoft provides bunch of controls separately for Mobile forms and web forms. we have much difference in both, like resources used, memory consumption, accesibility.. so on.. a Windows Enabled device has Windows Mobile OS in it, so only mobile controls will get executed in it. even though you take the screen resolution or anything into consideration the webforms controls doenot even get added to a windows mobile form. Even the browser i.e IE is also a light weight application, which cannot handle all the controls, so the controls are designed separately for mobile forms, and we have to make use of only those controls.

2. Where can I get a list of mobile browsers supporting HTML and the one's not supporting HTML?

the basic browser for any windows enabled device is IE, which is provided by default in the device. Other than that you have opera, safire mobile browsers, google android is a newbee ther. some browsers are OS specific, you can checkout the list for info over here

http://webtrends.about.com/od/mobileweb20/tp/list_of_mobile_web_browsers.htm