Visual Studio 2012 does not run all the classes in a unit test class RRS feed

• Question

• Hi everyone,

I am a beginner in c# programming and I'm working on a TDD app using Visual Studio 2012. Currently, I'm building test for other classes that were implemented. So I need to separate the test that are run from one class to another.

I have tried to make separate classes file (by adding a new Unit Test), but Visual Studio 2012 will not run those tests. I have tried to paste them into the only file where tests are run and make 2 separate class using "TestClass" attributes for each classes, but with no avail.

I have made a research here and found this:

http://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/winappswithcsharp/thread/b18bb39c-510f-4abe-9505-fde72481c7c8

However even if all my classes / files reach the mentioned setup, the new tests I make will not run unless I group them into the original test class.

How can I make Visual Studio 2012 run all the tests located in a test project?

Tuesday, January 29, 2013 3:20 PM

All replies

• Hello Herve,

Thank you for your post.

Do you mean that VS 2012 can’t run the new test methods in the new added unit test classes file?

If yes, I would like to know if all tests including the new added unit test can be detected and displayed in Test Explorer after you build your solution/project.

I suggest that you can reopen the VS, open the test project and then build your project to check if all test methods are displayed in Not Run Tests. If yes, then you can click Run All to check if all test methods can be run. If they can’t be run, if there are some errors after running, please provide us detailed error messages so that we can further look at this issue.

If only new added test methods can’t appear in Test Explorer but the original test methods can, you try to check if all test methods are public and have [TestMethod] attribute. Make sure that your test classes are public otherwise they won't get discovered.

Best regards,