none
Office 2007 macros get corrupted after modification RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

I'm a developer of LinkFixerPlus software that keeps links in documents from being broken. In particular the software reads links embedded in Offie macro modules and modifies their paths. I succeeded to do that for Office 97-2003 documents. Office 2007 macros look to have similar structure so at first I was sure that I wouldn't have any problems with them. However when I tried to open the resulting files in Excel 2007, I found out that the macros get corrupted! Looks like Office 2007 inserts several bytes in the module stream every time the stream is updated. Could anybody tell me what these bytes are? Thanks in advance!
    Tuesday, October 6, 2009 6:45 PM

Answers

• Elena,

As you are aware, we are discussing offline while I investigate and test this.  Just keeping you up to date on the forum.

Best regards, Tom Jebo Senior Support Escalation Engineer Microsoft Open Specification Documentation Support
    • Marked as answer by Elena Yudovina Wednesday, January 13, 2010 5:29 PM
    Wednesday, December 16, 2009 9:16 PM
  •  

Elena, 

I wanted to followup with you on the forum so that others can see the results.  Here is the list of steps for modifying VBA macro source in an Excel spreadsheet.  Compression and decompression referred to below is per algorithm in section 2.4.1 of MS-OVBA.

1) read the "dir" stream, decompress it and extract dir.PROJECTMODULES.MODULE.MODULEOFFSET.TextOffset (section 2.3.4.2.3.2.5)

2) read the Module1 stream at offset specified in TextOffset from step 1.

3) decompress the macro source from step 2, make whatever modifications are desired, compress it and write it back to the Module1 stream at the same TextOffset.

4) read the _VBA_PROJECT_CUR\VBA\_VBA_PROJECT stream

5) modify the  _VBA_PROJECT.Version (section 2.3.4.1) field to be 0xFFFF

6) write  the modified _VBA_PROJECT stream back to the file