Random RRS feed

• Question

• Hello, I'm a student and our teacher gave us an assignment without really explaining anything. He asked us to create a memory game in visual basic. I must use 16 PictureBox (4 x 4), and each one is assigned an image (8 pairs of images). If the user clicks on two same images, then they stay and he can continue, but if he clicks on two different images, they get hidden back. There must be a message at the end saying that the user won if he unhid all the boxes. Also, when the game starts back the PictureBoxes must randomly change places. We just started using this program about a week ago so can you please help me I only know how to assign the images to each picture box. Keep in mind I'm a beginner so my code has to be simple. Thank you very much.

• Edited by Peanut123 Thursday, March 3, 2016 3:07 PM
    Saturday, February 13, 2016 11:25 PM

Answers

• Welcome to the forum.  Please be aware that we aren't here to give you code to do your homework.  But we can help you with any problems you have with code you have written yourself.

This may help to get you started.

After you have designed your user interface:

Declare a list to hold your 16 pictureboxes and another list to hold your 8 images.

Add the pictureboxes and the images to the lists.

Choose an image at random from the list of images.  Once chosen remove that image from the list.

Then choose two pictureboxes at random from the list of pictureboxes.  Remove the chosen pictureboxes from the list.

Assign the chosen image to both pictureboxes.

Continue in a loop until all pictureboxes have images and the lists are empty.

Start the game by letting the player click on a picturebox.  When he does display the image.  Then when he clicks on a second picturebox show that image and if they don't match hide them both after a short delay.  If they do match then leave them showing.

Repeat the above in a loop until all pictureboxes are displaying images.  Game over.