none
VSTO Add-In works fine in Word 2013 and Word 2010, but won't load in Word 2007 RRS feed

• Question

• I'm new to C# and .NET and this is my first real project.  I wrote an Add-In in Visual Studio 2013 using the Word 2013 Add-In template.  I followed the instructions at http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc442767.aspx to create an InstallShield installer.  I have successfully tested the installer on workstations running Office 2013 and Office 2010, but I can't get it to load in Office 2007. I added the VSTO_SUPPRESSDISPLAYALERTS environment variable, but I don't think that the Add-In even attempts to load because I don't see any messages and the Load Behavior in the COM Add-Ins dialog just says "Unloaded" and nothing else.  I try to check the box, but as soon as I go back in, the box is no longer checked.  I have checked the registry and the LoadBehavior is still set to 3.  The Add-In isn't in the disabled list either.  As far as I can tell, the Add-In hasn't ever attempted to load.  I have tried on two separate machines running different operating systems, but I get the exact same behavior.  The installer installed Visual Studio 2010 Tools for Office Runtime and I was under the impression that was compatible with Office 2007- 2013.  Is there something that I am missing?  I haven't been able to find any forum posts describing the same behavior I am seeing.  The most similar ones I have seen were disabled, but mine is not.  I'm not sure what to check next.  I would greatly appreciate some suggestions.

Friday, October 31, 2014 11:20 PM

Answers