none
Flagging a row when a cell value is changed (Excel) RRS feed

• Question

• Hi Everyone, I'm new to VBA and so far have mostly used it exclusively with Access. But now the door is open and I find myself wanting to do more. This may turn out to have an obviously simple answer, but please bear with my Newbieness. Today I'm playing with a simple spreadsheet in Excel, in which we have some widgets listed and classified for extended warranty pricing purposes. As new widgets get added, or our experience with a particular widget changes we update the clients' master list. More specifically in this case, for any given row that needed to be updated I was updating it's classification values in Column "I" and then tabbing over to Column "N" to change the value from an "N" to a "Y" indicating the class has been changed.  After a few I wondered if this could happen automatically, so I dug around a bit and put this together:

Private Sub Worksheet_Change(ByVal Target As Range)
    On Error GoTo ErrorHandle

'Use next line to prevent infinite loop if change aimed at same cell (format, color, whatever...)'
    'Application.EnableEvents = False'

'Check if the user made any changes in Col I'
    If Not Intersect(Target, Columns(9)) Is Nothing Then

'Write to relevant cell in Col G'
        Range("N" & Target.Row).Value = "Y"

End If

BacktoNormal:
        Application.EnableEvents = True
        Exit Sub

ErrorHandle:
        MsgBox Err.Description
        Resume BacktoNormal
    End Sub

I've generalized and annotated it a bit so I can easily apply it elsewhere but it's not working quite as expected in a couple of cases: