Newbie Needs to be pointed in right direction [ Short and Sweet ] RRS feed

• Question

• I need to get started learning how to use VSTO.  I will be using C# along with Office 2010.

I've been programming COM-Addins using C++ for about 4 years, but now our company has gone .NET and C# happy.

WHAT I AM LOOKING FOR:
    Books, Blogs, and Links

WHAT DOES NOT HELP
    vb examples, and 2007 tutorials.

Wednesday, August 8, 2012 8:32 PM

Answers

• In terms of the process of writing VSTO AddIns, Office 2007 and Office 2010 are pretty much the same. AddIns that target Office 2007, in my experience, will work with Office 2010 (though apparently Microsoft don't officially support this practice).

If you're moving from native AddIns, you may not be aware that VSTO, specifically, only supports AddIns that target a single Office application. You can target multiple Office apps with C# and .NET, but we don't call that VSTO (sometimes that's referred to as a 'shared' COM AddIn...a term you may already be familiar with). See here for a good walkthrough on that (it might be good to look over anyway....VSTO basically wraps/simplifies some of that process for you, plus offers you a nice Visual Ribbon Designer).

There are two main types of VSTO AddIn...Application level and [Item] level. Application level AddIns will start up every time the target Application starts. Document level AddIns (for Word) will be tied to a particular document, Workbook level AddIns (for Excel) will be tied to a particular workbook. Depending on whether you want to build an application-level AddIn, and which application you want to program for, there's likely probably a specific walkthrough. This is an Application level one for Excel for instance; but basically once you've done it for one Office app, you've learned the process for all of them.