none
Is not id a property of the Layer Class? RRS feed

• Question

• I am not really a programmer and I am struggling in converting a v6.3 app to v8..that may be my main problem.

In the Documentation it list id as a property of the layer class however when I try and reference it I get nothing however when I  use ....  map.layers[i]._id that works.  Why would I not be able to simply use map.layers[2].id as implied by the documentation?  How would I know when to preface a property with an underscore .....  BTW I only accidentally got this working through a fat finger typo....

This does not work

function GetLayerByTitle(layerTitle) {  
        ///<summary>Return the Layer whose title matches</summary>
        ///<param name="layerTitle" type="string"> This is the Layer name</param>
        var numLayer = map.layers.length;
        var i;
        for (i = 0; i < numLayer; i++) {
            if (map.layers[i].id === layerTitle) {
                return map.layers[i];
                }
            }
                return null;
       }

This works:

function GetLayerByTitle(layerTitle) {  
        ///<summary>Return the Layer whose title matches</summary>
        ///<param name="layerTitle" type="string"> This is the Layer name</param>
        var numLayer = map.layers.length;
        var i;
        for (i = 0; i < numLayer; i++) {
            if (map.layers[i]._id === layerTitle) {
                return map.layers[i];
                }
            }
                return null;
       }

Friday, July 7, 2017 5:56 PM

Answers

• Ted,

The method should be getId(), with a lower-case 'd', not getID(). JavaScript is case-sensitive, so those two things are not equivalent.

• Marked as answer by TedKowal Friday, July 7, 2017 7:47 PM
    Friday, July 7, 2017 7:42 PM

All replies

• I believe .getId() is what you should be using to get the Id.

So for your code:

if(map.layers[i].getId() === layerTitle)