Do I have to hold onto returned tasks? RRS feed

• Question

• int _tmain(int argc, _TCHAR* argv[])
    {
    	volatile bool shutdown = false;
    	auto task = async::tcp_listener<byte>::create(_T("localhost"), 8080, [&shutdown](async::streambuf<byte> buf)
    	{
    		_tprintf_s(_T("incoming connection\n"));
    		shutdown = true;
    	});
    	while(!shutdown) { ::Sleep(200); }
    }

If I remove the "auto task" variable this crashes when a connection is established because the listener is deleted too early or something like that.

The example from the docs doesn't hold onto the task (and it also doesn't specify the template argument to tcp_listener and streambuf).

Am I supposed to hold onto the task returned by tcp_listener::create or is this a bug? (I'm new to C++ PPL, sorry)

PS: a tcp_listener::listen function similar to http_listener::listen would be useful. Even if Casablanca targets http connections, I'd really like to use similar features when dealing with custom tcp protocols, so to me it makes sense to keep both in one framework.

• Edited by Tobias Käs Sunday, February 10, 2013 10:05 AM
    Sunday, February 10, 2013 10:02 AM

Answers

• Tobias,

Thanks for your analysis. I can see now that this is a defect in our code. I'll file and bug and we'll fix in the server release.

One more thing. I realize this won't be helpful to you, but for your information, our next release of Casablanca will not contain server-side features like tcp_listener. At this moment we're readying the client-side functionality, so it will be a while before we get to this bug.

Artur Laksberg Visual C++ Team Microsoft

• Marked as answer by Tobias Käs Wednesday, February 13, 2013 8:45 AM
    Wednesday, February 13, 2013 5:48 AM

All replies

• Tobias,

Having 'auto task' here is not necessary, since you're not waiting on it, or attaching continuation to it. It really doesn't matter if you have it there or not.