What are Microsoft.Office.Tools.Excel.Controls? RRS feed

• Question

• Hello there!

This is my first post here on Social MSDN. I'm not sure if I can ask Excel VBA Development questions here.

Anyways, here are my questions:

1. What are  Microsoft Office Tools Excel Controls ? How to use them in Excel VBA ?

2. How can I see these controls (such as command button control on Userform toolbox in Excel VBA) for my excel userforms?

3. Can I use Microsoft Windows listbox in vba excel, as excel vba's listbox lacks many things. If yes, how ?

I do hope the admin doesn't mind me posting multiple questions.

I am still learning Excel VBA and developing my own accounting application using it, so I do hope I'll learn a lot from this website.

Thank you

Profound Regards.

Sunday, May 17, 2015 6:37 PM

Answers

• Hi,

>>What are  Microsoft Office Tools Excel Controls ? How to use them in Excel VBA ?<<

Did you mean the controls under the Microsoft.Office.Tools.Excel Namespace? If I understood correctly, the Microsoft.Office.Tools.Excel namespace contains a set of types that extend and support the Microsoft Office Excel object model in projects created by using the Office development tools in Visual Studio.

You can get more detail from links below:
    Microsoft.Office.Tools.Excel Namespace

Host Items and Host Controls Overview

These controls are not available in Excel VBA, there are only available to used in VSTO solution.

>>2. How can I see these controls (such as command button control on Userform toolbox in Excel VBA) for my excel userforms?<<

We are not able to see these controls for Excel user form.

>>3. Can I use Microsoft Windows listbox in vba excel, as excel vba's listbox lacks many things. If yes, how ?<<

What did you mean Windows listbox? As far as I know, we can use form controls and ActiveX control in the Office application, and here is an helpful link for your reference:
    Overview of forms, form controls, and ActiveX controls on a worksheet