none
Using VBA to do resource levelling. RRS feed

• Question

• Hi all! I know that my question here can sound perhaps a little crazy but I think I have not much choice but to attempt trying to to level the resources with VBA. Before I start conducting my research in my attempt to write the algorithm I would love some pointers from the experts here because I am new to MS project 2010.

The reason why I am considering using VBA to level is because I don't want MS project 2010 to split the summary task (i.e delay certain task within the summary task as a result of resource leveling) I have asked the question here

http://social.technet.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/projectprofessional2010general/thread/fc7b41b5-a716-4347-bf12-2fb719c78b78

I would really really appreciate feed back and pointers to the best place to get started. Thank you in advance.

PS: I am not a season VBA coder but I have fair experiences with VB.net and C#.net.

Tuesday, November 6, 2012 3:38 PM

All replies

• I agree with one of the posters there, leveling is designed to do what you don't want it to, so don't use leveling. Instead, Link all important tasks and any driven by logical sequences. The look at overloaded short supply hard to get resources and link some of their tasks so they are sequential. Set all these tasks to priority 1000 so they are not leveled then level remaining resources.

I know VBA can do a lot, but leveling manually in more complex scenarios is quicker then leveling automatically.

Rod Gill

The one and only Project VBA Book

Rod Gill Project Management

Wednesday, November 7, 2012 8:10 AM
  • Hi Rod Gill!

I agree with you, however the nature of my project scheduling doesn't require such intricacy or detail in the planning. I can get away with it because at the site the supervisors will do what makes more sense to the situation. The planning results is just a guild for the amount of time spent.