none
List Box form from table RRS feed

• Question

• Hello folks,

I am a newbie in MS Access and I would like to create a list box form.

So, I have selected "List Box" from Design then selected "I want the list box to get...." ---> selected table with Customers and got an error (picture below).

My question is, what am I doing wrong.

And one more question :) I would like to use this (just to select one customer) like a condition to import data from teradata's table. Therefore, what kind of relation I need to create?

Generally speaking, my idea is to import data from teradata table based on Customer Name criteria that I put in form.

Thank you in advance.

• Edited by tocy1980 Tuesday, February 25, 2020 10:10 PM
    Tuesday, February 25, 2020 10:09 PM

All replies

• Design the CustomerList table. Perhaps it has no fields yet?

Another test is to download the Northwind sample application, and try a quick test with its Customers table.

-Tom. Microsoft Access MVP

Tuesday, February 25, 2020 10:20 PM
  • Did you mean on this? It has field and data as well. It is not an empty table.

• Edited by tocy1980 Tuesday, February 25, 2020 10:45 PM
    Tuesday, February 25, 2020 10:44 PM
  • Let's start with:

CustomerID Autonumber, PrimaryKey

CustomerName short text, 100 chars, required

(the Northwind sample application could be a template for you, hint, hint. Find it under File > New)

-Tom. Microsoft Access MVP

Tuesday, February 25, 2020 10:51 PM
  • Perhaps it would help to take a look at how a list box is constructed, using an example from the DatabaseBasics.zip demo file in my public databases folder at:

https://onedrive.live.com/?cid=44CC60D7FEA42912&id=44CC60D7FEA42912!169

In this little demo file the section on 'retrieving data from the database' contains a form in which two methods of using a list box to return selected data are illustrated.  The structure of each list box is the same.

Firstly, the RowSource property of the list box is the following query: