opening connection to external pervasive sql database, in SSIS package, taking 20 sec (when executing by dtexec) RRS feed

• Question

• I am new to SSIS. I have created 5 SSIS packages to fetch data from an external Pervasive SQL database to the local SQL Server. Executing these packages from BIDS takes around 10 seconds each. But if I execute them using dtexec it is taking around 30 seconds each. On using the /ConsoleLog switch, the log shows the first 20 seconds being used on opening a connection to the PSQL DB. This is the case while executing each package.

If I click 'Test Connection' in the Connection Manager from BIDS, it still takes 20sec to display success for the first time.

Part of the log generate with /ConsoleLog showing this part is given below

Log:
         Name: Diagnostic
         Computer: xxx
         Operator: xxx
         Source Name: xxx
         Source GUID: xxx
         Execution GUID: xxx
         Message: ExternalRequest_pre: The object is ready to make the following external request: 
    'IDbConnection.Open(ConnectionType: Pervasive.Data.SqlClient.PsqlConnection, 
    Pervasive.Data.SqlClient, Version=3.2.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=xxx
    ConnectionString: Database Name=xxx;Host=xxx;Schema Collection Timeout=180;)'.
         Start Time: 2011-12-30 05:38:16
         End Time: 2011-12-30 05:38:16
    End Log
    Log:
         Name: Diagnostic
         Computer: xxx
         Operator: xxx
         Source Name: xxx
         Source GUID: xxx
         Execution GUID: xxx
         Message: ExternalRequest_post: 'IDbConnection.Open succeeded'. The external request has completed.
         Start Time: 2011-12-30 05:38:37
         En

I enabled trace on the Connection Manager. The connection part of the log is given below

Assembly Name:         Pervasive.Data.SqlClient, Version=3.2.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=xxx
    Assembly File Version: 3.2.37.000537

00000001 08:38:47.918 T1 I54267293 Connection::Open ENTER