none
Display text form 1 project to another project.

Question

• Hi please bear me for asking as I am a newbie .

I am asked to write 2 identical programs (chat like application) that needs to communicate to each other. When the first program sends a message  the second program must detect the file in the folder (where message of program 1 saved) and must display it. 
    Any idea ?

Thank you very much in advance. A sample code will be much appreciated.

Friday, April 21, 2017 1:47 AM

All replies

• Hi. 

Please help. I have two project  (Project A and B) that I need them to communicate to each other (Chat like app). I can display the form from project B . How ever when I try to pass data from Project a it gives me error "reference to a non shared member requires an object reference". Eventhough I have add the project b to reference. Please see my codes below:

Private Sub ShowChatFormOfRecipient()

If CurrentRecipient = "Edward" Then

If Not (Application.OpenForms().OfType(Of DecaMessengerReceiverForm).Any) Then
                    DecaMessengerReceiverForm.Show()
                End If

Dim NewUnsortedList As ArrayList = GetFileNamesToUnorderedList(CurrentRecipient)
                Dim NewSortedList As List(Of FileName) = SortFiles(CurrentRecipient, NewUnsortedList)
                Dim messages As String

For Each name As FileName In NewSortedList
                    Dim fileReader As String
                    fileReader = My.Computer.FileSystem.ReadAllText(RecipientFolder + name.Id.ToString("MMddyyyyhhmmss") + ".txt")

If messages = "" Then
                        messages = fileReader

Else
                        messages = messages + Environment.NewLine + fileReader
                    End If

Next
                DecaMessengerReceiverForm.ShowtextRichTextBoxReceiver.Text = messages

Thursday, April 20, 2017 7:22 AM