Getting data for Unit Test from MTM VS 2012 RRS feed

• Question

• Working with C# on vs2012 and MTM with TFS.

I have Unit tests that need to get data from MTM and eventually return results there.

To get this to work in VS 2012 I have to make the test a CodedUI test. This means that the test will not run unless the desktop is open.

Is there a way to do either of the following:

1. Get unit tests as [TestClass]...[TestMethod] to run from MTM

2. Get the test to Ignore the fact that the desktop is closed. Some registry setting or something? anything?

In the future can there be an an Attribute for [CodedUITest] to ignore the fact that the desktop is locked.

It would also be nice to be able to test for the desktop being locked as well.

Cheers

Monday, January 7, 2013 1:41 PM

Answers

• Hello Kwisitive,

Thank you for your post.

I am not an expert of MTM, but as far as I know, you can run unit test from MTM. Using Microsoft Test Manager you can run manual tests, exploratory test sessions, and automated tests from a test plan.

For more information, please see:

Running Tests

And Coded UI test is meant to exercise the user interface for an application. In other words, the application must be able to iterate with the desktop.  If you want to run Coded UI test, please don’t lock or have an active screen saver.

In addition, if you have some issues which are related to MTM, I suggest that you can consult it directly on MTM forum(http://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/vsmantest/threads) for better solution/support.

Best regards,

Amanda Zhu [MSFT]
    MSDN Community Support | Feedback to us
    Develop and promote your apps in Windows Store
    Please remember to mark the replies as answers if they help and unmark them if they provide no help.

• Edited by Amanda Zhu Tuesday, January 8, 2013 2:20 AM
    • Proposed as answer by Amanda Zhu Wednesday, January 9, 2013 7:22 AM
    • Marked as answer by Amanda Zhu Monday, January 14, 2013 1:52 AM