none
Integrating Access Database URGENT HELP NEEDED*** RRS feed

• Question

• Hi Guys,

I'm somewhat new to Visual Basic coding so please forgive me if i ask some stupid questions. I currently own a dog boarding company and want to be able to use a bespoke program to allow me to store all my client information. I believe this is possible using visual basic to input, edit and view data from a Microsoft Access Database Table. I have currently gone quite far into developing the program and have a main menu when opening it as shown in the following screenshot. 

When i click on the 'Search Records' function, it opens a new form which is shown below. Currently nothing on this form is functional except the 'exit' button. What i am needing much help with is to be able to use my database from access to populate the text boxes with data. I have already followed a tutorial on creating a Dataset with my database so this has been done. Also, i want to be able to use the search text box at the top to be able to enter a search query (this can be text from any of the available text boxes) and display records which match this. Then it would just be a case of pressing 'Prev' and 'Next' buttons to navigate through the search results with each result showing its data in the other fields. I hope this has made sense and i haven't confused too much. If you need any clarification just shoot me with any questions!

Also, if you're feeling extra generous, let me know how i can code the 'delete' button to delete records and the 'refresh' button to clear all search results and data in the text fields. Don't worry about the button labelled 'New' as i have a different form which i want to use to input data into the database.

Any help is much appreciated!

Friday, July 6, 2018 10:13 PM

All replies

• Hello,