Inter-Component Databinding? RRS feed

• Question

• Hi there,

I'm fairly new to the .NET platform, so please bear with me if this is a very rookie question.  I'm working on a program where I want two link two visual components to each other; namely, one component shows a list of custom objects on-screen (and allows selection of one), and another component provides further details on the selected object.  What I'd like to do is bind (in whatever sense is appropriate) a "SelectedObject" sort of property on the listing control with the "TargetObject" sort of property on the detailed viewing control.  I thought I could do this with simple databinding, and it will compile and run if the databinding is invoked with a non-null value in the "SelectedObject" property.  However, if I assign null to that property, my application mystically exits with a System.FormatException.  It could be that I'm just not implementing the databinding correctly, but it sounds like databinding is meant to create a link between a backend data source and a visual component, so I don't know if I'm even using the right technique.  Is it appropriate here, where the listing component essentially acts as a backend data source?  Any tips that anybody can offer as to how I should go about this sort of thing, or why I'm getting a FormatException, would be most appreciated - thanks!

- DJ
    Thursday, April 19, 2007 3:31 AM

Answers

• You can use a ComboBox to show the list of custom objects, and a DataGridView to show the details, handle ComboBox's SelectedIndexChanged event, change the DataSource of the DataGridView in  the event handler function.
    Wednesday, April 25, 2007 11:18 AM

All replies