locked
Old version overwrite current version RRS feed

  • Question

  • Hi, my name is Jones, I found that a scenario in the SourceSafe will overwrite the latest

    version by the old version without prompting the user.

     

    Example:

    -------------

    1) I select a source file in VSS, open the 'History window' . All histories showing (so far so good)

    2) For example, I have 5 histories (5 is latest version, 1 is the oldest initial version)

    3) I select the history 1 and click 'Get',  the initial version become my local copy (so far so good)

    4) I click 'Check Out' and select 'Leave my local copy as is'...now the latest (ver 5) in VSS and my

        local copy (ver 1) is out of Sync.

    5) When I check it in, the the local copy (ver 1) overwrite the latest version (ver 5) in the VSS.

     

    Question:

    -------------

    Is it possible to make VSS to prompt me when I check in ? since the

    latest version # (Ver 5) in VSS and the version # (Ver 1) in my local copy are difference?

     

    Thanks

    Thursday, May 17, 2007 1:11 PM

Answers

  • No, this is by design.  You are prompted in step #4.  If you choose "leave my local copy..." then VSS will not prompt you again.
    Thursday, May 17, 2007 6:38 PM
    Moderator