ManipulationDelta and SwapChainBackgroundPanel+Listview control

Question

• Note that I'm a newbie at XAML and Metro, so this is probably a trivial settings issue:

I have a C++ Direct3D11 app that uses a SwapChainBackgroundPanel (SCBP) with a Listview control on top. The SCBP has the following set:

<ManipulationDelta="OnManipulationDelta" ManipulationMode="All">

I use the incoming Delta to pan the contents of my D3D11 scene in OnManipulationDelta. However, when I click-and-drag in the overlaying Listview control, those mouse movements affect both the Listview *and* the D3D11 scene. For example, click-and-drag on the listview's scrollbar scrolls the listview contents AND gets sent to my SCBP's OnManipulationDelta, which pans my D3D scene. Not good!

Is there a way to make the Listview control completely consume the mouse movements? In the simulator debugger the "touch" mode works as expected => the Listview consumes the touch-and-drag in the listview.

Thanks

Monday, July 23, 2012 3:22 PM

All replies

• Most XAML events follow a "bubbling" routing stategy, which means event handlers will be invoked on successive parent elements up the visual tree hierarchy until the event is marked as "handled".  There's some background info on this here:

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms742806.aspx

(note this documentation is for WPF, but the concept applies across all XAML platforms)

Try setting the ManipulationDeltaRoutedEventArgs::Handled property to true in your OnManipulationDelta method for the ListView - that should prevent the routed event from bubbling up to the parent SwapChainBackgroundPanel:

e->Handled = true;

Monday, July 23, 2012 7:06 PM